» About Us
» Our philosophy
» Our social commitment
» Our ecological commitment
» Production of argan oil
» Our quality
» Our products
» Argan oil as a raw material
» Our Production plant
» References and partners
» Press and other media
» Contact and imprint

Our commitment to the environment
Mogador: Tradition and modernity
A philosophy with ecological foundations


Involvement: The argan tree once grew as far as Ghana. Today, as a result of desertification, it mainly covers an area of 820,000 hectares in southwest Morocco. It is presumed that the tree once grew on large areas in North Africa and Southern Europe. In 1998, UNESCO listed the Moroccan argan grove as a biosphere reserve.

Goats and dromedaries pose a genuine risk to the argan tree, as they love its leaves and fruits. As a last resort, argan trees may die, so that the fruits can no longer be used for the production of high quality oil.

Mogador promotes the use of argan fruits that still contain their pulp and which are hand-cracked. This way, we assure that the argan seeds pressed do not come from argan nuts which have been digested and fermented by goats. While the high quality argan seeds are used in oil production, both the pulp and press cake are fed to the animals.

These high quality argan seeds are expensive to buy. Our company accepts the higher price as on the one hand, this enables us to ensure the superior quality of the argan oil, while on the other hand the Berber learn to keep their goats away from the trees.

As they need firewood, some Berber women are forced to fell argan trees. Thus, regeneration and renewal of tree stocks are sadly stopped due to the increase in population and the constant demand for firewood. Consequences for the balance of the argan area are dramatic and desertification increases: The argan forest looses up to 300 hectares every year.

Preservation: We abstain from using firewood when roasting argan seeds. Instead, our company applies modern methods for this purpose, such as solar power. This way, we contribute to environment protection in the argan grove.

Mohamed Hassani, founder and CEO of Mogador, is an active member of the Mohamed VI foundation for the research and preservation of the argan tree. One of the foundationís activities includes the use of solar cookers among the local population. The project was initiated in cooperation with the Association Essaouira Mogador and the CDG association. Solar cookers are intended to prevent deforestation of argan trees, as each replaces between 5 and 10 kg of wood per day. Another project supported by the foundation is the planting of argan trees on an area of 300 hectares in the region between Essaouira and Safi.

» Wir über uns
» Unsere Philosophie
» Unser Soziales Engagement
» Unser Ökologisches engagement
» Herstellung des Arganöls & unsere Qualitätsansprüche
» Unsere Qualität
» Unsere Produkte
» Arganöl als Rohstoff
» Unser Betrieb
» Referenzen & Partner
» Presse & Medien
» Impressum & Kontakt

Unser kologisches Engagement
Mogador Tradition & Modernitt
Eine Philosophie mit kologischem Fundament

Der Arganbaum wuchs frher bis Ghana. Aufgrund der Verwstung ist er heute nur noch hauptschlich im Sdwesten Marokkos zu finden, auf einer Flche von 820 000 Hektar. Es wird vermutet, dass der Baum einmal groe Flchen in Nordafrika und Sdeuropa bedeckte. Im Jahr 1998 hat die UNESCO den Arganhain in Marokko als Bioreservat geschtzt.

Ziegen und Dromadren sind allerdings eine echte Gefahr fr den Arganbaum . Sie fressen nmlich die Bltter und Frchte des Baums. Dadurch knnen im schlimmsten Fall die Arganbume absterben; die Frchte sind fr die qualitativ hochwertige lherstellung nicht mehr verwendbar.

Mogador setzt sich fr die Verwendung von Arganfrchten ein, die ihr Fruchtfleisch noch enthalten, und die in handwerklicher Handarbeit aufgeknackt werden. So sind wir sicher, dass die gepressten Argansamen nicht aus von Ziegen verdauten und fermentierten Argannssen stammen. Die hochwertigen Argansamen werden fr die lherstellung verwendet, das Fruchtfleisch und der Presskuchen werden als Futtermittel fr die Tiere verwendet.

Diese hochwertigen Argansamen sind teuer im Einkauf. Unsere Firma nimmt den hheren Preis in Kauf. So sichern wir einerseits die hchste Qualitt des Arganls, anderseits werden die Berber dafr sensibilisiert, ihre Ziegen nicht mehr auf die Bume zu schicken.

Der Bedarf an Brennholz zwingt manche Berberfrauen dazu, die Arganbume zu fllen. Die Zunahme der Bevlkerung und der stndige Bedarf an Brennholz verhindern leider, dass der Baumbestand sich regeneriert und erneuert. Dies hat dramatische Folgen fr das Gleichgewicht des Argangebiets und trgt zur Verwstung bei _ die Arganai verliert bis 300 Hektar jedes Jahr.

Wir verzichten auf den Einsatz von Brennholz bei der Rstung der Argansamen; unsere Firma setzt auf den Einsatz von modernem Material fr die Rstung der Argansamen, und zwar beispielsweise mit Hilfe von Solarstrom. So tragen wir zum Umweltschutz des Arganhains bei.

Mohamed Hassani, Grnder und Geschftsfhrer der Firma Mogador, ist aktives Mitglied der Stiftung Mohamed VI. fr die Forschung und den Erhalt des Arganbaums. Eine der Aktivitten der Stiftung ist der Einsatz von Solarkochern bei der Bevlkerung. Das Projekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Association Essaouira Mogador und der Association CDG initiiert. Die Solarkocher sollen die Abholzung des Arganbaums verhindern, indem jeder Solarkocher tglich 5 bis 10 Kilogramm Holz ersetzt. Eines der von der Stiftung gefrderten Projekte ist die Bepflanzung von 300 Hektar Land mit Arganbumen in der Region zwischen Essaouira und Safi.